Bonnie Ann Wallace

Professor of Molecular Biophysics
Department of Crystallography
Institute of Structural and Molecular Biology
Birkbeck College
University of London
London WC1E 7HX U.K.

phone: 44-(0)207-631-6800
fax: 44-(0)207-631-6803

Ph.D. (Molecular Biophysics and Biochemistry) Yale University
Jane Coffin Childs Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University
Jane Coffin Childs Postdoctoral Fellow, MRC-LMB, Cambridge
Fellow, AAAS; Fellow, Institute of Biology; Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry
2009 Royal Society of Chemistry Interdisciplinary Prize
2010 AstraZeneca Award from the Biochemical Society

Book on CD and SRCD:

"Modern Techniques for Circular Dichroism and Synchrotron Radiation Circular Dichroism Spectroscopy"

B.A. Wallace and R.W. Janes, Editors

click here for information on contents and how to order


My lab focuses on structure/function studies of membrane proteins and polypeptides, especially those involved in ion transport and signal transduction. Of particular interest are voltage-gated sodium channels (we have recently determined the first crystal structure of a sodium channel in its open conformation ) and polypeptide ion channels such as antiamoebin , and trichtoxin (polypeptide antibiotics that act as ion channels). We have developed a new chimeric approach for expression of membrane proteins, and have produced a functional "minimal" sodium channel pore . We use the techniques of X-ray crystallography and circular dichroism spectroscopy, cloning and expression, bioinformatics, and molecular modelling, as well as functional studies to examine structure/function relationships for these ion channels.

Methodologically, we develop techniques and applications for synchrotron radiation circular dichroism (SRCD)spectroscopy of proteins, especially for its use of SRCD in Structural and Functional Genomics, and for circular dichroism of membrane proteins, including ways of mitigating solvent shifts, differential scattering, and absorption flattening effects. We have created the DICHROWEB website for secondary structural calculations , new soluble and membrane protein reference databases for CD analyses, a CD data processing and archive package "CDtool" for use with conventional CD and SRCD beamline data.

In a collaborative project with R.W. Janes of Queen Mary, University of London, we have created the Protein Circular Dichroism Data Bank (PCDDB), a deposition and archiving data bank and associated validation software for circular dichroism spectra and the DichroMatch method for structural analyses.

Selected Publications:


Our work is supported by grants from the BBSRC, the EPSRC and the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry.
In collaboration with Dr. Alison Rodger of Warwick University, we organise the EU/UK Annual CD Summer School. Next year it will be held on 9-12 September 2013. Details can be accessed by clicking here.
    Current Group Members
Postdocs: Dr. Lee Whitmore, Dr. Andrew Miles, Dr. Andrias O'Reilly, Dr. Andy Powl, Dr. Claire Bagneris, Dr. Martin Ulmschneider, Dr. Jose Luis Lopes
PhD Students: Ben Woollett, Laura Erdmanis, Wayne Miller